Common Core State Standards

In August of 2010, the California State Board of Education adopted the Common Core State Standards for English language arts and mathematics. The Common Core State Standards Initiative is a stateled, not federal, effort coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. The standards were developed in collaboration with teachers, school administrators, and experts to provide a clear and consistent framework to prepare students nationwide for college and the workforce.

The Common Core State Standards are informed by the highest, most effective models from states across the country and countries around the world and provide teachers and parents with a common understanding of what students are expected to learn. Consistent standards provide appropriate benchmarks for all students, regardless of where they live.

These standards define the knowledge and skills students should master during their TK–12 educations so they will graduate high school prepared to succeed in academic college courses or workforce training programs. The standards:

  • Are aligned with college and work expectations
  • Are clear, understandable, and consistent
  • Include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills
  • Build upon strengths and lessons of current state standards
  • Are informed by other top performing countries, so that all students are prepared to succeed in the global economy
  • Are evidence-based

The following state standards, as adopted by the California State Board of Education (and in conjunction with the related curriculum frameworks), guide the district?s curriculum and instruction in these subject areas:

  • Career Technical Education (updated January 2013)
  • Common Core English Language Arts (modified March 2013), including standards for literacy in history, social science, science, and technical subjects
  • English Language Development (adopted 2012)
  • Health Education (adopted March 2008)
  • History?Social Science (adopted 1998)
  • Common Core Mathematics (modified January 2013)
  • Physical Education Model Content Standards (adopted 2005)
  • Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS; adopted 2013)
  • Visual and Performing Arts (adopted January 2001)

The Common Core State Standards are available at:

Corresponding curriculum frameworks are available at: